TEMPORARILY CLOSED BECAUSE OF THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC.
This is a replica of a historic lighthouse that once guided mariners along the Choptank River. The lighthouse features a mini-museum and visitor information. From May through October, the lighthouse is open daily, 9:30am to 5:30pm. for free, self-guided tours. Volunteers serving as “lighthouse keepers” will be on duty Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays to answer any questions. In the off-season (November through April), the lighthouse is open by appointment (call 410-463-2653).
The screwpile lighthouse, located at Long Wharf Park on Cambridge’s waterfront, is the Chesapeake Bay’s newest lighthouse, completed in September 2012. The lighthouse was more than 20 years in the dreaming and the making. Most of the funds needed to build the lighthouse came from local Dorchester County residents. While the lighthouse is owned by the City of Cambridge, the exhibits and visitor experience there is facilitated by a community nonprofit, the Cambridge Lighthouse Foundation.
There is no admission charge, but there is a donation box.
Long Wharf Park is at the intersection of High and Water Streets in Cambridge, Maryland. In addition to the mini-museum, the lighthouse houses the offices of the dockmaster of the Cambridge Municipal Yacht Basin. It is handicapped accessible with a chairlift. The lighthouse is available for special event rentals for up to 30 people. For details, call 410-228-1955.
For more info and photos, join the Choptank River Lighthouse on Facebook.
May-October: 9:30am-5:30pm daily
November-April: By appointment; call 410-463-2653