For Heritage Partners 2017-09-05T16:15:51+00:00

about the heritage area

The Maryland Heritage Area Authority (MHAA) oversees 13 regions designated as Certified Heritage Areas. These heritage areas leverage public and private partnerships to stimulate economic development through heritage tourism. The Maryland Heritage Areas Authority supports heritage areas with targeted financial and technical assistance. By investing public dollars, MHAA seeks to spark private investment and motivate local leadership to embrace a sustainable level of heritage tourism.

Each of Maryland’s Certified Heritage Areas is defined by its distinctive characteristics that make it different from other parts of the state. Most of Dorchester County is certified as the Heart of Chesapeake Country Heritage Area. The themes that define us are:

  • Agricultural Life
  • Architecture & Artifacts
  • Dorchester Families and Traditions
  • Harriet Tubman and African American History
  • Maritime Villages, Trades, and Life
  • Outdoor Adventure: Chesapeake Landscapes and Waterscapes
  • Native American Heritage
  • Heritage Awards 2014


For communities and organizations that work to preserve, restore heritage resources, sponsor events or projects that support these themes, the Heart of Chesapeake Country Heritage Area provides technical support to apply for grants and/or to advance their efforts. In addition, the heritage area itself implements projects and programs to improve its historical and cultural destinations.

contact us

Need more information?

Contact us here, or send us an email at

Our mailing address is:

Heart of Chesapeake Country Heritage Area
2 Rose Hill Place
Cambridge, MD 21613

Maryland Heritage Area Logo